Summertime and the knitting is easy…

Hello!

The sun is shining here (however temporarily) and I have a holiday on the horizon which means I need to sort out my holiday knitting!

I have a few ideas, and perhaps you are making similar plans right now. There are a few requirements for my holiday knitting: portability, large sections of easily memorised pattern or stocking stitch, and I like ’em relatively small and accessory sized.

If you are in need of a little inspiration, here are a few I make earlier:

I would love to hear what you will be be knitting! What makes a good holiday knit for you?

Happy knitting,

Rx

6 thoughts on “Summertime and the knitting is easy…

    • I think shawls have won the day for travel knitting, but I am a fairly quick knitter, and have decided on one shawl and one cardigan…. at least I am confident I won’t run out of knitting! Being restricted to carry on luggage is the worst! Maybe something in lace weight…. ?

  1. I agree with you about the requirements for holiday knitting. For knitting on a plane I always prefer to have something on a circular needle. Then there is nothing to lose down seat backs or in overhead lockers (ask me how I know!) So a simple shawl is often the best option.

    I always tend to over pack projects as I have a fear of running out of something to knit. The upside of this is that I have a nice selection of things to work on 🙂

    • I couldn’t agree more–better too much than too little in terms of knitting. I have once or twice, run out of knitting on a trip and I can tell you, it is a crisis…. I have learned my lessons!

  2. I used to knit socks on flights. Until I had kids, I flew between New Zealand, Canada, and Europe pretty regularly, and I could knit a sock over a 12 hour flight (a NZ-Europe trip has 2 of those each way, which is 2 pairs of socks and very cramped fingers upon arrival… My pinkie would be numb for a couple days afterwards). Generally, I think long trips (plane, car, or whatever) are great for really getting into a project that normally seems daunting… So definitely not easy projects (except the summer I decided to master reading while knitting). I’ve never worried about losing needles (zip up project bags!) but certainly intarsia is a bad idea, or anything that’s hard to find your place in if you fall asleep, or get interrupted by a meal cart or whatever, or in dim light.

    • Wow!! 2 pairs of socks is an impressive accomplishment for an entire trip, let alone just the flights! I like the idea of taking something that would normally seem daunting, but is easy to put down and pick up often. It almost sounds like a design challenge…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

