Dreams of linen summers

Hello!

I am suffering from weekend withdrawals at the start of this fine week. The weekend was so sunny and lovely, getting back to work seems extra painful. I am soothing/attempting to motivate myself with a strong coffee at a cafe and I have to say, everyone is looking a little worse-for-wear this morning. I’m putting my faith in the caffeine and, of course, knitting!

What are you knitting these days? Are you getting ready for summer with lace-weight or perhaps linen? I’m going to indulge in a bit of linen obsessing now. After a sunny weekend, I want to cast on half a dozen new designs in linen.

This is because I haven’t managed to try much of the several gorgeous yarns that have been tempting me lately, including Lithuanian Linen available from Midwinter Yarns, a heavy lace weight yarn that comes in an amazing eye-popping pink among other beautiful shades

Lithuanian Linen from Midwinter Yarns

and Kalinka Linen, which is a heavy 4 ply weight available at Wild and Woolly. I have seen Kalinka knit up, and it is really so gorgeous, and also has some fabulous colours including a acid-bright lime green, and a black and white marled colour way called ‘stereo’.

Kalinka Linen Yarn from Wild and Woolly Kalinda Linen Yarn in acid green from wild and woolly shop

 

 

 

 

 

And then there is Quince and Co., who have 2 lovely linens to choose from: Sparrow, a 4 ply and Kestral.

Linen cardigan by Renée Callahan

I used Kestral for this cardigan (which will be published soon!). I loved the yarn and am keen to use it again. Worsted-weight and chain plied, I admit that it was inclined to snag on the needles. I wonder if using a needle with a more rounded tip would have helped. Even so, I really love the weightiness of the fabric and the wonderful drape. I love wool, but there is something very seductive about the drape of linen.

Happy knitting,

R.

5 thoughts on “Dreams of linen summers

  1. Beautiful design! Looking forward to it being published. I have some Kalinka stashed from last summer still waiting to be knitted into a summer top. I have a short sleeved cardigan I’ve knitted in a worsted weight linen (Rowan Creative Linen) and I agree, I love the heavy drapeyness of it. Now you’ve got me itching to search out that Kalinka linen. Did you know they also do a linen merino blend??

    • Ohh, what colour is your Kalinka? They make some gorgeous ones! I really want to knit with it and have been dithering only because there is such a long waiting list for my needles… hahaah! i look forward to seeing what you end up knitting;)

      • The dark purple, and a single skein of lavender destashed from a friend. I was wondering about stripes, but I think the lavender one is destined for wash cloths. Its not really my colour!

Leave a Reply

