Morning creativity

morning-drawingsHello!

For the last two years, one of my resolutions has been to draw everyday. The thing about being a designer is that I have entire days in which I don’t actually do anything creative. I sit in front of the computer screen, doing the things that need to be done for my business to be a business. So when I heard about Crystal Moody‘s #yearofcreativehabits challenge to herself, I was smitten. I decided to get up a little earlier and I have, with more or less frequency, made a drawing every (weekday) morning. It’s a great way for me to feel like I am doing something daily, however small, for myself and my creativity. This is not to say that the drawings are always good or even that they improve in a consistent way. Sometimes they are really terrible. Like even worse than when I began. But it still feels like a worthwhile activity, even when it is frustrating. Part of the original challenge was to post a photo of the drawing on Instagram as a way of creating accountability.

morning creativity - Copy

And I did for quite a while. But recently I decided to change that. It was pointed out to me that I had a knitting Instagram feed that was mostly composed of drawings. And I thought, yeah, good point. I really should spend some more time showing people my knitting work on the feed. So I have stopped posting the photos, but I haven’t stopped doing the drawings! I thought I would just share a few of the new ones here and say that I haven’t given up, the good work continues!

morning creativity-2 - Copy morning creativity-6 - Copy morning creativity-7 - Copy morning creativity-10 - Copy morning creativity-11 morning creativity-14

It is sometimes hard to remember that creativity is a discipline, and not always a romantic one. Do you have a creative anchor? What is it and how do you maintain it?

Happy creating!

R.

13 thoughts on “Morning creativity

  1. I love this idea! You know since the very early childhood I was told that if you have the talent for something you should do it and it is impossible to teach yourself creativity – you just have it or not have it. But fortunately life has shown that you can learn anything with the simple discipline, learning and practice, practice, practice!

    • So true Alina! I always heard the same thing and I think it is such a shame to tell a child that! It hardly gives us incentive to keep trying. Thankfully we get to choose our own path now!

    • Thank you Jem! I know just what you mean. That is why I have to get up early just to dedicate a little bit of time just to drawing. Otherwise, there would always be something else that needs doing!

    • Thank you Josh! The other reason I haven’t really been posting them is that I have drawn almost all of the images from my source book, and haven’t found the next source yet, so I am drawing many of the same photographs, which I think is not great for the Instagram feed! I really must get on and find another source!

      • Other books from Arbus? Or draw your breakfast each day? Or your fruitbowl? You’ll find something! Will you post them somewhere? Or create an other account for it? I love drawings. I have done a month of selfportraits before breakfast a long time ago and loved it.

  2. I was inspired by your posts to try drawing last year. I didn’t keep it up for very long (shame face) but it did get me thinking, and I aim to try again!

    I have to write as part of my job, and although it doesn’t always have to be creative, I often struggle with discipline with the discipline part of it. I try to write at least once a day for at least 25 minutes, and note it down in journal. Picking up the pen/pencil or opening up the blank document is the hardest part for me!

    • Hi Kate!
      It is really all about the habit for me. I get up before anyone else just to have that bit of time with a cuppa and the blank page. Maybe the sleepy brain helps–there is not too much going on at that hour in my mind! If I waited until later in the day, it wouldn’t happen for multiple reasons.
      I do a tiny bit of writing in the morning as well, but it is definitely something I would like to do more of.

  3. I love your drawings on your Instagram feed! I feel like we need to revive Kaye Gardiner’s #andknitting hashtag – who says you can’t be an artist #andKnitter in your social media output?
    it’s beautiful to see your creations abs inspirations. Thank you for what you’ve shared along the way.

    • Thank you Louise! It is heartening to read that people don’t mind seeing it. I will look up #andknitting. I certainly don’t claim to be an artist, but somehow I do find drawing worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

