Life Lemonade

Hello!

Lately, I’m all about taking stock of my life choices and goals. I posted about the studio here. Today, I would like to tell you a story about one of my failures.

As a freelancer, there is a certain kind of risk that you take on as part of any job. When I started out, there was a particularly painful job that I won’t relate the details of. Needless to say, it was a learning experience for everyone.

The result was that I ended up with several knitted garments that I certainly didn’t want, but I wasn’t happy for the client to have either. So I kept them. With loathing. Stuffed into several supermarket bags at the back of a cupboard. I might have just thrown them away, but not only do I have a stubborn streak a mile wide, the yarn was lovely. A beautiful fingering-weight merino in such quantities as to make my make-do-and-mend soul cry at the thought of just throwing it all away. So it remained. Bagged and loathed.

the great yarn unraveling

On a few occasions, I attempted to take action. I would rope in The Very Patient Man and begin unraveling and reskeining with abandon. After some hours, I would cry uncle and put everything back into the cupboard.

Then, some months ago, life began to change. The studio rent-increase was the kick in the bum that sent me on my way. I realised I couldn’t just keep bumbling along in the way I had been and had to take action.

So I did. And when I did, there was a large pile of yarn and garments sitting in supermarket bags, unloved and ever so slightly mocking me.

It was time to sort it out. I wanted to reappropriate the yarn and therefore the whole experience. The yarn needed a new, successful life. And that started with adding some new colours. Luckily, I happened to know this amazing indie dyer…

I started bothering Linda of Kettle Yarn Co. about a ‘fun day’ at hers dyeing my yarn. She graciously agreed to help me and when I finally organised myself and made it to her home, she was a dyeing master, turning the evidence of my past defeat to jewel hues, ready for new, beautiful, successful projects.

lemon yarn

Lemons…

kettle Yarn co cooks up something good

Kettle Yarn Co. cooks up something good.

dyeing with Kettle Yarn Co.

Dyeing with Kettle Yarn Co.

Lemonade Yarn....

Lemonade in the making…

ELK life lemonade yarn

ELK life lemonade yarn

I’m pleased as punch with how the yarn has turned out. I can’t decide what pattern to cast on, but am looking colour-work shawls now! What are your favourite colour work patterns? I would love to hear about them in the comments:)

In other exciting news, my first collection of knitting patterns is nearly ready to be published!! We have a date and everything. Thursday 29th October I will push the six patterns of the Klee Collection out of the nest and into the world wide web. But more about that anon….

Happy knitting,

R.

6 thoughts on “Life Lemonade

  1. Thank you for sharing! I really think there is no such a thing as a failure, until you give up completely. Mistakes are a part of every journey and they give great lessons!

  2. What a fantastic turn around – both for you and the yarn! One of my favourite designers for simple colour work (apart from you of course! 😉 ) is Isabell Kraemer. She has some terrific ideas for striped and colour blocked sweaters.

  3. This makes me so happy! I have some garments like this: beautiful yarn knitted into objects I hate. I feel inspired by your success!

Leave a Reply

