A Room of One’s Own.

Hello!

Last time I posted about my old studio and my travels on the road to become an independent knitwear designer.

This time I just wanted to post a quick photo diary showing the progression of my new studio. I know there are so many incredibly talented people who are able to perform this kind of transformation on their own, but I had a great set of builders in to do it for me.

Our garage was full of stuff and on its way to becoming a junk store when I decided to have a studio in there instead. It isn’t massive, obviously. It is a single garage with no insulation and had a way to go before I could use it.

the garage before

Before the building, but after some serious cleaning out occurred…

the garage before

I was especially keen on natural light, and the ability to put in large skylights was the deciding factor with going ahead.

new studio in the works

The builders did an amazing job, separating off a small section of garage from a well-lit craft room. They put in laminate flooring with under-floor heating, power points, shelves and lighting. With a little help from IKEA, we were ready to go…

New knitting studio ready to go

Once I had moved everything I could fit from the old studio, there is not a lot of room left over, but it is a tiny perfect space with everything I need.

New EastLondonKnit Studio New knit Studio

Although this is quite a reduction from the previous studio, I am so happy with the result. I never have to worry about the rent going up again! It gives me the space and time to really work on my own designs and projects and dreams, such as my first hand-knit collection. This first baby of mine, the Klee Collection, is so very close to being ready, I can hardly wait to show you.

Happy knitting,

R.

4 thoughts on “A Room of One’s Own.

  1. Wow! What a transformation! You have a fabulous new workspace – and don’t you just LOVE Ikea for their terrific storage ideas? I have to ask – where is all the ‘stuff’ that used to live in the garage? 😉

    • For all its flaws, IKEA is really great for some things! I wasn’t kidding when I said there was a lot of junk in the garage. Much of it was thrown out, and the rest put into storage boxes. Some of those boxes went into the loft, some into new shelving in the back of the garage, and some into a new little storage unit that lives in the garden. It took some doing, but it was worth it!!

Leave a Reply

