Curious Handmade Wardrobe Challenge

Hello!

I may have mentioned my ambitious ideas about that well-planned, hand-made wardrobe I was getting around to making. Or maybe I didn’t. It is hard to say as I have spent so much time thinking and talking about it, and not much time actually doing it.

So when I heard Helen of the Curious Handmade podcast throw down the hand-made gauntlet, I was ready to take it up. It was the nudge I needed, really. Helen describes the impetus for the challenge in Curious Handmade blog:

If you heard last week’s podcast, you know that we’ve just launched a really exciting challenge which will be running over the next three months. I’ve been thinking a lot about how we can be more intentional about creating (and wearing) a wardrobe of handmade garments and accessories that work together for real lifestyles. There are so many reasons why a handmade wardrobe is a worthy dream: the ability to truly express your individuality, clothes that truly fit your shape, the chance to break free from the destructive cycle of “fast fashion” and (of course) the sheer joy of making things and flourishing in your own creativity.

I identify with this line of thought and really appreciate Helen’s initiative.

The CH rules are thus:

Make some handmade wardrobe items.

August: get the inspiration, design and materials.

September: get to the making

October: get to the finishing.

I, however, am a fan of rules. I work best when I set myself hard and fast (if arbitrary) rules and stick to them. So I decided that I would pick 3 items of clothing I already have–preferably those which I love, but don’t wear so often because they don’t play well with others, and build an outfit around each one. Then I wandered around the wardrobe and settled on these things:

the wardrobeApparently, I have several dresses like this, and my wardrobe is really full of these dark moody colours. the wardrobe-2

This is a sweater from my new collection coming out this Autumn. It is a secret, so you haven’t seen this. I have been pondering what to wear with it for a little while now… And certainly hand knit sweaters are necessarily a solid part of my wardrobe, so there is a gap to fill here.
the wardrobe-4And finally, I do love a vintage dress, and there are a few printed fabrics I just can’t get enough of. These are the exception to the wardrobe, but again, I have more than I would have thought at first. 

In the end, I have 3 garments that I actually wear all the time, but still feel like they are in need of a little something. But what, layers? Accessories? Not sure yet, but it will be fun to decide!

Happy knitting,

R.

4 thoughts on “Curious Handmade Wardrobe Challenge

  1. Pingback: Travels | EastLondonKnit Shows & Tells

  2. Pingback: Into Mind | EastLondonKnit Shows & Tells

Leave a Reply

