A Cardigan for A Baby

Hello!

Last week I blogged about a pair of cardigans I knit for my family back home. I had the overwhelming urge to make a gif of the little one after a fun photo shoot which I almost managed to keep the dog out of.

Baby hand knit cardigan-GIF

In my rush to finish by the time, I totally forgot buttons. In fact, I was still knitting on the plane, but that wasn’t really a problem. The buttons, however, were. I had hoped to use the lack of buttons as an excuse to do some crafty shopping, but was thwarted by the fact that the baby showed up hours after the plane touched down. So I got creative with my options.

My mother kindly found me some gold buttons, but I really wasn’t into the colour combo. Upon snooping around Dad’s closet, I found his old LL Bean shirt, which had just enough buttons left to help me out. This shirt is such a classic, right? It has a fine patina of wear.

Grandpa's shirt

I sewed the new (err, quite old) buttons onto the baby’s cardigan and replaced them on my Dad’s shirt with Mom’s shiny gold numbers. Now my Dad may not have been best pleased with this. In fact, I don’t know; I didn’t ask. It seemed for the best. I couldn’t miss the photo op…..

ELK hand knit baby cardigan (1 of 1)-9

 

I like to think he understands. And maybe he loves his new blinging buttons even more than the old. Maybe…..

ELK hand knit baby cardigan (1 of 1)-2

Next time, I will have a little tutorial for sewing on patch pockets.

Happy knitting,

R.

One thought on “A Cardigan for A Baby

  1. Pingback: Patch Pocket Mini Tutorial | EastLondonKnit Shows & Tells

Leave a Reply

