One for the road.

Hello!

As the end of Me Made May approaches, I thought I would post another sewing project.

Sewing: mmmay plaid dress

I would consider this a semi-successful project. Perhaps you can tell by the look on my face. I bought this fabric during a trip to Seattle a couple of years ago. What can I say? The grunge years were formative and I have never gotten over my love of plaid flannel.

Anyway, this is the 2246 Simplicity pattern: The Traveler Dress. I got the pattern a few years ago from Raystitch in Islington and don’t know why it took me to so long to get around to sewing it. It is a simplified version of a classic buttoned shirt, and wasn’t a difficult project.

That said, it came out rather shorter than I expected.

simplicity 2246 traveler dress

This is not passing the finger-tip test of my school days. We tried to take some pics illustrating the perils of bending over in a dress this short. Though hilariously unflattering, this is a family blog and I had to decide against traumatising you with that image. I suppose the solution is to wear it with jeans or leggings rather than the heels and bare legs modelled on the pattern envelope, which I still like for a autumnal look with boots.

After the I Knit Fandango, the lovely Bogga of Knitting in France has been publishing some profiles of fellow vendors, including a really sweet blog post about myself and Kettle Yarn Co.’s Linda. Bogga has also started a Beetlebum shawl which is going to be beautiful!

Knitting in France's Beetlebum shawl

If you aren’t familiar with Knitting in France, have a look at the Etsy shop and her blog–Bogga hand-dyes lovely yarn, makes beautiful jewelled stitch markers and has an interesting range of crafty notions. Thanks so much for the mention Bogga!

Happy crafting,

R.

2 thoughts on “One for the road.

Leave a comment