The One with Brain Fuzz

Hello!

Do you get the feeling there is just a little too much going on to mentally process it? I have that at the moment. It feels like fuzz on the brain, preventing clear thinking and getting sh*t done.

When the brain fuzz strikes, I try to spend some quality time with my diary. I write out all the things I have to do (‘brain dump’ I’ve heard it called) and then find a space in the schedule for them. This may seem too obvious to mention, but it is actually helpful to remind myself there are only so many hours in the day and a limited number of things I can actually do (even fewer if I am trying to do them well). It’s like a licence to focus on just one thing at one time.  Because, as it turns out, I cannot multitask. This may be further evidence that I am an unnatural, bad woman, but I have a sneaking suspicion that most people can’t. It’s a delusion in which I occasionally indulge, but am always shown the error of my ways… eventually….

So what are all these things I seem to think I can/should be doing right now?  Well, I am working on a collection of hand knit patterns for the Autumn. This is a big deal to me, and I want to it be so good.  I am really excited about it–the inspiration close to my arty-farty heart, I have amazing yarn support and I have the time to do it justice if all goes to plan (HA!).

The first sample for the collection is practically finished…

Twilight flowers sweater sample

There are half a dozen other hand-knit design projects in various stages of completion (evidence of the multitasking failure), such as a design for the new Kettle Yarn Co. Islington DK yarn,

ELK knit stole in progress

and the Westknits pattern the Enchanted Mesa sweater is underway, though not seeming to go very quickly…

enchanted mesa handknit in progress

…my first participation in a proper KAL with the Fringe Association to knit the L’Arbre hat by Cirilia Rose

L'Arbre hand knit hat in progress

Then there is the studio. The studio is a sad tale of developers moving into the artistic heart of Hackney Wick and my own issues with the fashion industry, but that is a story for another not-so-distant-time.

my real workspace

My actual workspace right now….

It’s all about priorities, right? Just decide on the most important thing to do and do it. Then do the next thing.

What are your techniques for conquering the brain fuzz?

Happy knitting,

R.

Leave a Reply

