A darned jumper

Hello!

So it would be super duper fab if you, yes you! would join me at Unravel in Farnham Maltings, at which I will be hosting a workshop on rejuvenating your unloved knitwear on Sunday 22 February.  I would really love to see your unloved and unworn knits, and work with you to resuscitate those jumpers, hats, scarves or whatever you may have around that needs a little work and affection.

In the spirit of making do and mending, I thought I would show and tell a jumper I worked on not so long ago.

Inspired by the gorgeous work of the lovely Julie of Knitted Bliss and, of course, Tom of Holland, Master Darner, I was keen to repair a particularly holey sweater I came across.  It was one for the bin rather than the charity shop, so I figured there was no risk in trying some visible mending.

ELK darned sweater 1

I didn’t mind the process, although I hadn’t considered my old eyes when I decided to darn a fine-gauge sweater. It seemed to get finer as the darning when on, and there was always one more hole than I thought there would be.

ELK darned sweater 2OK, it’s not the most beautiful craftsmanship ever.  I had imagined very neat and beautiful darning, but mine turned out rather more, err, rustic.

Nevertheless, I am pretty happy with it.

ELK darned sweater 3 ELK darned sweater 5 ELK darned sweater 4

I do hope to see you at Unravel.  If you can’t make the workshop, it would still be great to see you. I will be loitering at the Kettle Yarn Co. booth–please come and say ‘hi’!

Happy knitting,

R.

 

4 thoughts on “A darned jumper

  1. oooh, it looks fantastic! I love that you kept the colours in a similar family, and the result is really great- textured and wonderful to look at. Well done, you!

Leave a comment