Seattle Love

Hello!

ELK celebrates memorial day 2014Although I love the place I live, I’m not native to East London.  It is one of the quirks of my (everyone’s?) brain is that the further away I live from Seattle, the more important it seems to my identity.  I visited my city and my people at the end of summer this year and enjoyed all the usual joys of the season, plus some exciting new ones.

Especially joyful was visiting Tolt Yarn and Wool.  I got excited about that one, and took so many pics that it will have to have its own blog post.

I also met my new nephew, which was also actually really nice.

EastLondonKnit's family

It was a lucky coincidence that my sister had a photogenic baby.  I was so pleased I designed some knitwear for him, and we had a several little photo shoots.

ELK masters the one-handed baby dressing

ELK masters the one-handed baby dressing

My parents’ place is in a wonderful part of the world; rural, but not far from the bright lights of the big city.  I couldn’t resist the morning sunlight on dewy spiderwebs.

EastLondonKnit on the farm

Spiderwebs in morning sunshine

No trip to the hometown is complete without some serious shopping, and I did pretty well this year, splurging on Quince and Co, not once but twice!

Quince and Co 1

 

Quince and Co Owl

Quince and Co Tern

Signature Needles

I also bought a pair of Signature Needles. After all the hoopla at Unwind Brighton* I to find out for myself what all the fuss was about.  I have just started my first project with them, so will have to give a report on them later….

Happy knitting,

R.

*You can still get the needles from the Unwind Bright Shop!

Leave a Reply

