Bugs, bunnies & bad knitting.

Hello!

I am a woman of simple pleasures.  We went for a weekend away on the South Coast recently, and I loved it. We stayed in a caravan, ate fish and chips and drank wine.  And I slept. A lot. Seriously, it was bliss.  Here are some pictures to prove it:

EastLondonKnit goes to Swanage Swanage 14 (1 of 1)-3 Swanage 14 (1 of 1)-4 Swanage 14 (1 of 1)-5 Swanage 14 (1 of 1)-6 Swanage 14 (1 of 1)-7 Swanage 14 (1 of 1)-8 Swanage 14 (1 of 1)-9 Swanage 14 (1 of 1)-10 Swanage 14 (1 of 1)-11 Swanage 14 (1 of 1)-12 Swanage 14 (1 of 1)-13 Swanage 14 (1 of 1)-14 Swanage 14 (1 of 1)-15

When Knitting Attacks….*

I show you all this as my holiday knitting is too shameful to show at the moment.  The best bit of any holiday is the knitting, right?  Well, I was well prepared with a sample Asterisks Shawl to show off some of the wonderful Kettle Yarn Co‘s superb yarns, which I thought was perfect holiday knitting–such a simple pattern repeat, so straight forward a pattern….

If this is at all sounding like a project that is about to go horribly wrong, you wouldn’t be wrong.

I was on the path to destruction from the very beginning, though I didn’t know it til the end.   Without looking at the pattern, I just started knitting, assuming that it was so simple that I couldn’t get it wrong. So when I got to the border and the numbers didn’t add up, I was flummoxed.  Not only did I design the thing, I am clearly too clever to have made a foolish mistake, such as working the wrong decreases from the start, or working the wrong number of repeats, or working the transition to the lace border incorrectly, or use the wrong needle size. Or EVERY ONE of these mistakes in a single project.  Ugh.

So I decided it had to be frogged.  And yet, I didn’t.  And I let other people know I was going to the frog pond, but they cried out in protest–all that knitting for not?  Just fix it they said.  And so I did.

I am not going to lie, this shawl’s very existence annoys me no end.  I don’t think the casual viewer will be able to tell how badly I messed this up, but I will ALWAYS know the truth.

There is a lesson in here somewhere, but I am ignoring  it to go finish the damn shawl.

I wish you all happier knitting than my own just now….

R.

*I listen  to the amazing Knitmore Girls podcast and the refrain ‘When knitting attacks!’ so aptly described my feeling I had to use it.  Do give the Knitmore Girls a listen, they are awesomeness.

One thought on “Bugs, bunnies & bad knitting.

  1. Pingback: Kettle Yarn Co.’s Asterisks | EastLondonKnit Shows & Tells

Leave a Reply

