Autumn Winter 2014 Inspirations

Hey kids,

I have a confession to make.

I went to fashion college.

I am not proud of it, but it is a fact of my life.

I look at images of fashion shows.  I thought I should drag you down with me.

Click on the image for a slide show. All images Vogue.co.uk

E.L.K. picks Victor and Rolf 1

I love the idea of having a complex colour work pattern bracketed by a solid contrast colour.

E.L.K. picks Victor and Rolf

Interesting take on the cable jumper–with lovely centred focal point.

victor and rold2

Super combo of trad fair-isle and the sequin equivalent.

Super combo of trad fair-isle and the sequin equivalent.

E.L.K. picks Thom Browne

Flattering lines that curve around the body. Makes me think of unusual construction techniques.

E.L.K. picks Sharon Wauchob again

Again, simple but effective

E.L.K. picks Sharon Wauchob pre-collection

Patterns that are centre-front oriented like this always appeal

E.L.K. picks Dries van Noten

See Christopher Kane, above.

E.L.K. picks Pringle again

A bit of lovely applied texture in Pringle’s latest.

E.L.K. picks Pringle

Again with the irregular colour-work ideas.

E.L.K. picks Prada again

Beautiful delicate dress over knit vest.

Long V-neck for jumper-dress layering.

Long V-neck for jumper-dress layering.

E.L.K. picks Miu Miu

Simple but effective cardi. Chunky, a la Twinkle…

E.L.K. picks Miu Miu

Embroidery idea for fresh cables

E.L.K. picks Marni once more

So rich, so rich…

E.L.K. picks Marni again

The most sophisticated feather covered woman I have seen. When I grow up, I want to be just like her….

E.L.K. picks Marni

Love the feathers, but this one is all about the palette for me–a beautiful combo.

E.L.K. picks Louis Vuitton one last time.

A flattering idea for narrow colour work and dark/black sides and sleeves.

E.L.K. picks Louis Vuitton again

The fairisle variations.

E.L.K. picks Louis Vuitton

Nicolas Ghesquiere’s first collection for the brand may not have focused so much on the clothes as the bags, but there were still ideas to be pilfered.

Again, with feeling!

Again, with feeling!

E.L.K. picks Dries van Noten palette

colour pop magic

E.L.K. picks Dries van Noten

A beautiful lace pattern cascading across the body, you say?

E.L.K. picks Christopher Kane

Chris Kane always has a lot of ideas going on, tho I am not always sure how to use any of them, or whether I can even like them. This one is representative. I hate the plastic stuff, but can see an interesting use of a texture or yarn that would be over-whelming all-over, but in such a stripe, may work.

E.L.K. picks Chanel again

I think Lagerfeld is trying to tell me something about how to flatter a girl’s figure. My quest, if I choose to accept it, is to make it flatter a woman….

E.L.K. picks Chanel

This is obvs meant to be a cardigan that has just appeared at the top of my to-do list.

E.L.K. picks Calvin Klein

I am a child of the 90s & grunge will never die in my heart. There is always room for another deep-V in black, to be worn with shit-kickers.

E.L.K. picks Bora Aksu det

It is undeniably sweet, no?

E.L.K. picks Bora Aksu again

I admit I have a soft spot for Bora Aksu. the cropped length, & black’n’blue palette for this some did it for me.

E.L.K. picks Bora Aksu

Shame I look like a jaundiced duckling in yellow, cos this shade is so sunny & lovely. Maybe not so AW, but summer sweet.

E.L.K. picks Bora Aksu det

It’s all about the contrast in texture within a single colour-netting=an open lace, leather=a stripe in a different texture of yarn, and a lace or textured bodice?

E.L.K. picks Balenciaga 1

Yoke idea–not necessarily solid semi-precious crystals, but colour work or with contrast colour in textured stitch

E.L.K. fashion inspirations

I like both the wool/leather combo and the way the wool begins solid and trails off–a favorite patterning for me.

I know, I know; who’s going to walk down the street like this, yada yada.

But you know, there are ideas and inspirations ripe for the plucking here.

Next week, Part 2 of the Double knit tutorials.

Til then,

Happy Knitting!

Leave a Reply

